Acclaimed Author – Ben Okri

279 Views Comment Off

Ben Okri has published 8 novels, including The Famished Road and Starbook, as well as collections of poetry, short stories and essays. His work has been translated into more than 20 languages. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and has been awarded the OBE as well as numerous international prizes, including the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Africa, the Aga Khan Prize for Fiction and the Chianti Rufino-Antico Fattore. He is a Vice-President of the English Centre of International PEN and was presented with a Crystal Award by the World Economic Forum. He was Born March 15, 1959, and was educated both in his native Nigeria and England. He now lives in London.


Awards and honours



  • Flowers and Shadows (1980)
  • The Landscapes Within (1981)
  • The Famished Road (1991)
  • Songs of Enchantment (1993)
  • Astonishing the Gods (1995)
  • Dangerous Love (1996)
  • Infinite Riches (1998)
  • In Arcadia (2002)
  • Starbook (2007)

Poetry, essays and short story collections

  • Incidents at the Shrine (short stories, 1986)
  • Stars of the New Curfew (short stories, 1988)
  • An African Elegy (poetry, 1992)
  • Birds of Heaven (essays, 1996)
  • A Way of Being Free (essays, 1997)
  • Mental Fight (poetry, 1999)
  • Tales of Freedom (short stories, 2009)
  • A Time for New Dreams (essays, 2011)
  • Wild (poetry, 2012)
Chief Editor
Author: Chief Editor

Nigerian Community,News, Events and more

In : Spotlight

About the author

Nigerian Community,News, Events and more

Related Articles