Yoruba Movie Academy Awards debuts

105 Views Comment Off

The first edition of the Yoruba Movie Academy Awards (YMAA) is set to hold on May 20, 2012 in Abeokuta.

YMAA will celebrate creativity and professionalism in the Nigerian movie industry, especially the Yoruba movie industry.

President and Executive Producer of YMAA, Tunde Oshinibosi, said that the sudden development of the Yoruba movie industry is second-to-none and should be recognised and appreciated by Nigerians.

“The Yoruba movie industry produces an average of 70 films a week, therefore, its socio-economic, cultural and tourism potentials cannot be ignored. It also contributes largely to the growth of our great country, Nigeria,” Oshinibosi said.

“Right now, the excitement and buzz created within the movie industry, and even the entire country, is unprecedented. YMAA has become the talk-of-the-town among stakeholders, who describe it as an event that will showcase Yoruba culture and tradition across Africa and the world in general.”

He added that YMAA will honour and celebrate movie industry professionals in major categories, with the aim of encouraging quality productions and professionalism.

“It is noteworthy that the pioneers of today’s Nollywood were Yoruba movie icons like the late Hubert Ogunde, Kola Ogunmola, and Adeyemi Afolayan, popularly known as Ade Love, among others. Now, all hands are on deck to not only stage the biggest event in the Yoruba movie industry, but also to create a brand that will become top of the rangein Nigeria,” he said.

The categories include: YMAA Best Actor, YMAA Best Actress, YMAA Best Actor in a Supporting Role, YMAA Musician in an Acting Role, YMAA Best Cultural Movie. The films selected for the award are films released between February 2011 and December 2011 and endorsed by the Yoruba Video and Film Producers/Marketers Association of Nigeria (YOVIPFMAN).

The event will be held at the June 12 Cultural Centre, by the Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Ogun State to commemorate the anniversary of Ibikunle Amosun, Governor of Ogun State’s first year in office.

Full list of nominees below:

YMAA Best Actor In A Leading RoleYomi Fash LansoOdunlade AdekolaMuyiwa AdemolaFemi AdebayoFemi Branch

YMAA Best Actress In A Leading RoleFathia BalogunToyin AimakuFunke AkindeleBimbo AkintolaMosun Filani

YMAA Best Musician In An Acting RolePasumaIdris AbdulkareemSaheed OsupaObesereSexy Steel

YMAA Most Promising ActorTinuke OgungbeDamola OlatunjiGabriel AfolayanBisi KomolafeKayode Akinbayo

YMAA Best Crossover ActorKelvin IkedubaRicado AgborMercy AigbeDoris SimeonRose Odika

YMAA Best Comedy ActorLanre Omiyinka(Ijesa)Bolaji Amusan(Mr Latin)Afeez Oyetoro(Saka)Adekola TijaniOlaniyi Afonja(Sanyeri)

YMAA Best Actress In A Supporting RoleRachael OnigaSola SobowaleFausat BalogunToyin AfolayanPeju Ogunmola

YMAA Best Actor In A Supporting RoleEbun OloyedeAntar LaniyanDele OduleTaiwo HassanAdebayo Salami

YMAA Best Yoruba Cultural MovieIseseKujenraKolo Kolo 2Akuko OranIrawo Oke

YMAA Best DirectorBayo AlawiyeAbbey LanreAdebayo TijaniMuyideen .S. AyindeLasun Ray

YMAA Achievement In SoundImisi EsuEmi AbataIseBaba Kamimo WonKutanle

YMAA Achievement In CinematographyKuta NleIseRansomBaba Kamimo WonEmi Abata

YMAA Best MarketerOlasco FilmsCoporate PicturesToymax Film HoldingsAlmorufEpsalum Production


Related Articles